A Map of the Imagination

Flute, viola, and piano (2010)

Commissioned by the ensemble Major Third, A Map of the Imagination is a trio in twelve short movements:

I. East of the Sun
II. here is a desert (solo viola)
III. In this place there are peculiar fishes
IV. The City of Many Towers
V. here the north wind lives (solo flute)
VI. The City of Many Towers (reprise)
VII. The wonderful moo moo bird
VIII. The bottomless lake (solo piano)
IX. Don't walk too near the edge
X. An empty Cage
XI. West of the Moon
XII. the path that leads to no-place

To download a sample page from the score, please see the link on the left.

To order scores or parts from the catalog, or contact Katherine Saxon with regard to a commission, please take a look at the contact page.